Hedley Donovan Award

Hedley Donovan was born May 24, 1914, in Brainerd, Minnesota. He graduated in 1934 magna cum laude from the University of Minnesota, as a member of Phi Beta Kappa. He was an editor in chief of Time Inc. from 1964 till 1979 and was responsible for all publications at Time Inc., including Time, Life, Fortune, Sports Illustrated, Money, and People. After retiring in 1979 he became a senior adviser to President Jimmy Carter. Hedley Donovan was chosen by Henry Luce, founder of Time Inc., to be his successor.  The Hedley Donovan Award was created in 1999 by the MMPA to recognize individuals who have shown outstanding lifelong dedication and made exceptional contributions to Minnesota's magazine industry.


  • Should be leaders who have helped the publishing industry grow and receive more recognition.

  • May come from the creative or the commercial side of the business.

  • Should have a history of long-standing, notable contributions to the publishing industry.

Criteria for nominees

  • A person who for many years has demonstrated significant contributions - near the pinnacle of success rather than on the way up in mid career.

  • The nominee should be a publisher, editor or senior magazine executive who has received broad recognition in the magazine publishing arena and has been instrumental in one or more successful magazine enterprises.

  • The nominee should be someone we would all be proud to have represent us and our industry.

  • The nominee should have a record of significant contributions ("giving back") to the publishing industry as a whole, either through industry associations or other voluntary and cooperative forms of service.

Nominate Someone Today!

2016 Hedley Donovan Award recipient Rebecca Sterner.

Previous Recipients

  • 2016: Rebecca Sterner, Publishing Consultant
  • 2012: Steve Hedlund, formerly of GS Media & Events
  • 2004: Steve Fox, Minnesota Monthly
  • 2002: Al and Ron Lindner, founders of In-Fisherman magazine
  • 2001: John Ehlert, formerly of Ehlert Publications Group
  • 2000: Jim Secord, formerly of Bill Communications
  • 1999: Burt Cohen of MSP Communications

*No award was given in 2003, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, or 2015.