The Innovator Award

The Innovator Award was first presented in 2002. This award recognizes companies that have successfully established and executed a new concept in the magazine publishing business. This new concept could range from a particularly successful publication (or launch) to a more-efficient production technique.


Nominees must presently be MMPA members. A print or online publishing product or service that incrementally or radically changes thinking, products, processes or organizations.

Nominate Someone Today!

Sherry Shifflet presenting the Innovator Award to Jay DeWitt from Ratchet+Wrench.

Previous Recipients

  • 2014: Rat Rod Magazine
  • 2013: Ratchet+Wrench
  • 2012: Rat Rod Magazine and Quad/Graphics
  • 2010: EXHIBITOR Magazine
  • 2007: Woodworker's Journal
  • 2006: Ehlert Publishing
  • 2005: Game Informer
  • 2004: Sales Force XP
  • 2003: North American Membership Group
  • 2002: New Moon, The Magazine for Girls and Their Dreams

*No award was given in 2008, 2009, 2011